The Anatomy of a Fundy Conversion Experience

How does one become a fundy? This is a quick post to outline the anatomy of a fundy conversion experience as I understood it while inside the bubble:

Step 1: Accept Christ – This is the beginning. Not everybody that takes this step will advance to the next.

Step 2: Put Off (alienation) – Destroy most (if not all) secular music, movies and books in your possession. Pour out all alcohol. Ties with old friends should either be severed or severely limited unless those friends are Christians (which means fundy). This also applies to family. Especially the ones that actively try to interfere with the new way of life. After all, you have a new family now and no longer have a need for the old one.

Step 3: Put On (indoctrination) – Be proud of everything that you gave up for Jesus in step two. Vigorously defend the separation from friends and family created in step two at all costs. Use a KJV. Develop a conviction against women wearing pants, long hair on men, and a hundred other things that oddly seem to reflect the mindset of the early 1940s. Ignore the controversy between those standards and the actual teachings of the Bible. If it helps, try to create logical arguments to rectify those differences. Above all, do not question biblical authority. In the church, this means the pastor. In the home, this means the father and husband.

Oh yeah, and try to have a personal relationship with Christ. But if you can’t, just follow steps two and three and you will be okay for the most part.

I grew up in the movement, so I’m not really surprised that I advanced through the entire process before I decided to get out. But what makes people coming in from the outside so willing to go through step 2 and step 3? Feel free to sound off in the comments if you have an opinion.

About Techrolle

Former Fundamentalist. Current member of the human population. Future cranky black man. View all posts by Techrolle

11 responses to “The Anatomy of a Fundy Conversion Experience

  • brian

    Because they r taught from the very beginning that becoming a fundy means that they must give up everything. They want something new. Sobad that gthey r willing to try it. I do not ujnderstand the appeal but some find it to be absolutely true.

  • Michelle

    Dan,

    Did you ever have doubts about your salvation? What about “Rapture scares” where you feared the Second Coming might have happened and you missed it? I would be interested in hearing your stories. Might be something interesting to share in a blog, and it would really help so many of us realize that we are not alone.

    Thanks,
    Michelle

    • Dan

      I actually experienced both. I will definitely try to work that in to a Blog post. Thanks!

      • Michelle

        Why do you think so many of us experienced that?

      • Dan

        That’s a great question Michelle. I don’ t know if I can speak for everybody, but I can share my experience (which I will hopefully expand on later).

        Honestly, doubting salvation and fear of missing the rapture are a direct result of the environment that I was raised in. Christ love was very much diminished. Fear and guilt were the major components and they quickly made their way from my environment to my psyche. I wasn’t sure if I was good enough. When I sinned, I wondered if that was evidence that I really wasn’t a christian. I didn’t really feel the true acceptance of Christ until after I was able to clear my head of all those things.

  • Michelle

    For me, I grew up Southern Baptist, but the “Brimstone” school I attended, it goes without saying which denomination it was affiliated with (ha!)

    But even in the Southern Baptist Church, the “salvation” experience is everything, and I was certainly no stranger to hellfire and brimstone preaching. If I have to say one thing positive about the Southern Baptists, it’s that they were wise in trying to shield us as children from the heavy Rapture rhetoric. (not that they didn’t believe in the Rapture) However, that “Brimstone” school gladly filled in the gaps where my church seemed to be lacking. The school really did a number on me, to say the least.

    I’ve been told by somebody in my current church that reading my first Brimstone book was like reading my own personal diary. I do hope you will check it out. I look forward to reading your blogs as well! It helps to share our stories.

    Thanks, Michelle

  • M.E. Anders

    You summed it up well, Dan. Seeing the process written down is reminiscent of all the sermons I heard back in the IFB. “Thou shalt nots” always outnumbered the “Thou shalts.”

  • forgedimagination

    I think it might have something to do with certainty. It’s nice, easy, even comfortable, to just follow a prescribed list. Especially if that list comes with assurances that they’re biblical and right. There’s no gray areas, everything is clean and neat.

    It fits in well with a neo-classical, Modernist worldview that a lot of the IFB-type have.

Leave a Reply

